We have moved to another domain: fiata.org. All pages will be redirected and accessible as usual. x

FIATA General Meeting elected the new Presidency and the new Extended Board of FIATA for the next two years in Cape Town, South Africa

Zurich, 29th November 2019 - At the recent FIATA General Meeting held in Cape Town in conjunction with its World Congress changes took place in the FIATA leadership team with a new President, and changes to the Presidency and Extended Board.

The newly elected President Mr Basil L.S. Pietersen, South Africa, is the former Chair and longtime director of the South African Association of Freight Forwarders. He succeeds Mr Babar Badat, Pakistan, who is now the Immediate Past President.

Mr Robert Voltmann, United States, has been re-elected Secretary General and Mr Huxiang Zhao, China, as Treasurer.

The three Senior Vice Presidents elected were Mr Ivan Petrov, Bulgaria and Mr Turgut Erkeskin, Turkey these members being reelected and Mr Thomas Sim, Singapore, who joined the Presidency as a new member.

The General Meeting also elected the following Vice Presidents:   

Nadia Abdul Aziz

United Arab Emirates

Marc Bibea


Mark Bromley

United Kingdom

Krishnan Chelliah


David Fielder


Richard D. Gluck

United States

Ahmed Moustafa Hamed Khaleel


Byung Jin Kim

Republic of Korea

Galo Nicolas Molina Aguilar


David Nutakor


Jens Roemer


Neil Taylor Montgomery


Together with the Chairpersons of the Institutes, the Advisory Bodies and the FIATA Regional Bodies (referenced below) these elected delegates represent FIATA’s multiregional, cultural, ethnic and gender diversity.



Chair Airfreight Institute (AFII

Keshav R. Tanna

Chair Customs Affairs Institute (CAI)

Steve Parker

Chair Multimodal Transport Institute

Robert Keen



Advisory Bodies


Chair Advisory Bod International Affairs (ABIA)

Paul Golland

Chair Advisory Body of Informational Technology (ABIT)

Anne Sandretto

Chair Advisory Body Legal Matters (ABLM) 

Yuntao Yang

Chair Advisory Body Safety and Security (ABSS)

Brian Lovell



Regional Bodies


Chair Region Africa / Middle East (RAME) 

David Phillips

Chair Region Americas North and South (RAMNS)

Jorge Heinermann

Chair Region Asia / Pacific (RAP) 

Adelaide Yang

Chair Region Europe (REU)

Antonella Straulino



Standing Committees


Chair FIATA World Congress (FWC)

Stanley Lim


Media Contact:

Stephen Morris, Acting Director General

Email: [email protected]



FIATA, the International Federation of Freight Forwarders Associations, was founded in Vienna, Austria on May 31st 1926.  It is a non-governmental organisation that today represents an industry covering approximately 40,000 forwarding and logistics firms, employing around 10 million people in some 160 countries. FIATA has consultative status with the Economic and Social Council (ECOSOC) of the United Nations (inter alia ECE, ESCAP, ESCWA, etc.), the United Nations Conference on Trade and Development (UNCTAD), and the UN Commission on International Trade Law (UNCITRAL) as well as many other UN related bodies, e.g. the World Bank. It is recognised as representing the freight forwarding industry by many other governmental organisations, governmental authorities, private international organisations in the field of transport and logistics, such as the European Commission (through CLECAT), the International Chamber of Commerce (ICC), the International Air Transport Association (IATA), the International Union of Railways (UIC), the International Road Transport Union (IRU), the World Customs Organization (WCO), the World Trade Organization (WTO), etc.

For further information, please go to: www.fiata.com

Glattbrugg, 29 November 2019


  • Home

Choose your language: